Home About UsAbout Cancer Insititute

About Cancer Insititute

Incepted in 2010, Medanta Cancer Institute, a Division of Radiation Oncology at Medanta - The Medicity, is the centre of excellence in Cancer Oncology, CyberKnife Robotic Radiosurgery, CyberKnife VSI, a painless and incisionless alternative to cancer surgery, VMAT, IGRT, immunotherapy, surgical oncology, radiation oncology, clinical research based mapping of cancer diseases, comprehensive counselling and other cancer diagnosis and treatment technologies and services in India and Abroad. The avant-garde Medanta Cancer Institute is dedicated to provide ‘Holistic Care’ to patients with its contemporary class of cancer treatment techniques and specialists. 

Different types of cancer treatment technologies and services provided by Medanta Cancer Institute include medical oncology, surgical oncology and radiation oncology among the others. Medanta Cancer Institute has a fleet of eminent and highly qualified and experienced Cancer Oncologists like -

Dr. Tejinder Kataria Chairperson at the Division of Radiation Oncology, is the elitist Radiation Oncologist in India and across the world. The renowned doctor has several awards and accomplishments under her name, including National Excellence Award for Humanitarian Work in cancer, Marquis Who's Who in the World, International Health Professional of the Year and more.

Dr. Ashok Vaid Head of the Department of Division of Medical Oncology & Haemotology, is a world-renowned Medical Oncologist, Senior Consultant and Coordinator, Paediatric Oncologists and Hematologist. The eminent doctor, a Padma-Shree awardee, has more than 40 national and international clinical research studies and publications under his name.

Dr. A.N. Jha is a pioneer in getting Intra-Operative MRI technology for brain tumour surgeries in India & holds the expertise to perform tumour surgeries, operated in Brain lab with use of ALA dye for precision of tumour removal & cerebrovascular surgery. As a visionary, Dr. Jha recognized the need and potential of sub-specialization in Neurosurgery. Heading the Neurosciences Institute at Medanta, Dr. Jha has developed a specialized team for Neurovascular Intervention, Endoscopic Spine surgery, Endoscopic Skull base surgery, Functional neurosurgery & radio surgery. For Neurology he developed the team for Stroke, Epilepsy, Movement Disorders, Paediatric Neurology and Sleep Medicine. He believes our team with the latest technology is the way to provide optimum patient care. Due to focus on education as an important objective at Medanta, Dr. Jha has initiated Fellowships and Training programs for doctors, technician and nurses to promote Quality & ethical practice, living up to the repute of Medanta.

Dr Aditya Gupta A graduate and topper from All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), Dr Aditya Gupta is an accomplished and experienced neurosurgeon. As a student, resident and later Faculty at AIIMS, he has won several awards, such as the prestigious Sir Dorabji Tata Award. He was Associate Professor of Neurosurgery at AIIMS till late 2009. Dr Aditya has not only developed excellent surgical techniques for a wide variety of brain tumours, spine diseases, but also has special and unique skills in managing patients with Movement Disorders with Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS), Surgery for Epilepsy, Nerve and Brachial Plexus Surgery, Radiosurgery as well as Cerebrovascular Surgery. He contributed significantly to the setting up and success of all these programs at AIIMS. He has trained abroad at several universities for these specialized skills. Dr Aditya has more than 40 publications and chapters in books and has been invited speaker at several national and international conferences and on national television. Dr Aditya Gupta is available for consultation and clinical services at Medanta - The Medicity, Gurgaon.

Dr. N.P. Gupta is Chairman, Academics and Research Division Urology. After doing specialization in Urology, he joined All India Institute of Medical sciences (AIIMS) as faculty in 1979 and rose to the position of Professor and Head of Department (1998-2010). During his distinguished career of 35 years, Dr Gupta contributed immensely to the growth of the sciences of Urology both at National and International Level. He has published over 300 articles & papers in various national and International journals, has written 6 books on Urology; contributed chapters in 9, produced 18 teaching video films and trained over 110 M.Ch. and Post graduates. He has performed more than 20,000 operations for various urological diseases. He is a pioneer and renowned surgeon who started robotic surgery in Urology in 2006 at AIIMS and today has performed the largest number of robotic surgeries in India in his specialty.

Dr. Ahlawat to his credit has the unique feat of establishing four successful Urology and Renal Transplant programs in India, at Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow, Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi, Fortis Hospitals, New Delhi and Medanta, the Medicity in New Delhi. His publications and presentations at national and international forums have focused on minimally invasive Urology.

Dr Rajeev Agarwal is one of the senior most surgical Oncologist & Breast specialist in Delhi. He pioneered the practice of surgical oncology & concept of organ based specialization in oncology in northern India. He has a keen interest in breast conservation surgery, sentinel node biopsy & breast reconstruction.

Dr. K.K. Handa With over 24 years of pushing the boundaries of medical innovation under his belt, Dr. K.K. Handa’s name is often paired with voice surgery, laser surgery, endoscopic sinus surgery, otology including cochlear implants, sleep medicine and robotic surgery in India. Having spent over 13 years at the highly prestigious All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Dr. Handa is credited as a Founder Secretary of the Association of Phonosurgeons of India and is the immediate Past President of the association. His medical prowess and proficiency has seen Dr. Handa bestowed with countless awards and accolades.

Dr. Sabhyata Gupta is the first Gynaecologist in India to do Robotic Gynaecological surgery for cancerous and benign (non-cancerous) gynaecological conditions. She has expertise in Gynaec Oncology, colposcopy, advanced Gynaec laparoscopy, Robotic surgery & hysteroscopy. She has authored a number of publications and has been actively involved in various seminars, workshops and conferences throughout the country and at international level. She is currently Executive member, Association of Gynaecologic Oncologist of India.

Dr. Deepak Sarin is the Associate Director of the division of ENT & Head and Neck Surgery. Dr. Sarin has various awards under his name including Chandler Society Award, Kamani Charity Prize, Mukut Sahariya Award etc.


Medical Oncology Surgical Oncology Radiation Oncology